Government of Sudan Restricts National Internet Access, Blocks Social Media Amidst Ongoing National Protests

Dating back to December 20th 2018, in the wake of massive demonstrations across the country, led by President Omar al-Bashir, the Government of Sudan has shut down most of the national internet and blocked access to social media applications such as Twitter, Facebook and WhatsApp. As for why the people of Sudan are protesting, in many ways it is not that much different than the situation in France and Jordan – protesters are upset about the growing wealth/income disparity in the country, as well as the rising costs of food, fuel and taxes.

As was reported by Amnesty International on December 21st,  “Sudan is currently experiencing a severe economic crisis which has led to a rise in the cost of fuel, electricity, transport, food and medicine provoking countrywide protests.” Explaining that “since 14 December, tens of thousands of people have been taking part in protests in different parts of the country including in Wad Madani, Port Sudan, Gebeit, Al-Qadarif, Atbara, Berber, Dongla, Karima, Al-Damazin, Al Obeid, Al Fasher, Khartoum and Omdurman.” Adding that as of this past Wednesday, at least 8 people have been killed dozens injured and hundreds more arrested. “The government has also shut down the internet since 20 December, in yet another attempt to stop the protests.

According to researchers on the ground however, there are multiple reports that +30 have been killed since the start of Wednesday.

Unfortunately, the situation is beginning to remind me a lot about the Oromo protests in Ethiopia in 2015/2016. Not only were hundreds killed in these protests, but the Ethiopian Government also restricted access to the National internet and social media applications such as Twitter, Facebook and YouTube. As a result, the Anonymous Hacker Collective jumped in, instruction Ethiopian citizens how to utilize VPN’s and the Tor networking service, as well as set activists up with encrypted chat servers and email accounts to safely coordinate national protests with one another throughout the future.

If anyone from Sudan manages to get this information, or you know people in Sudan whom need the information, they can learn how to circumvent national internet restrictions and Government blockades through the information and resources provided below. Additionally, activists working on behalf of CyberGuerrilla have already set up channels on the DarkNet and ClearNet for Sudanese activists to learn more about these practices, as well as how safely coordinate with one another or others looking to help them online while. You are invited to reach out to them here:

Anti-Censorship Care Package – What To Do When National Internet Becomes Restricted or Blocked (via CyberGuerrilla): https://www.cyberguerrilla.org/blog/anti-censorship-carepackage/

https://webchat.cyberguerrilla.org/ #OpSudan
https://3ur4xm2japn56c5f.onion/ #OpSudan

Ways To Connect To CyberGuerrilla IRC: https://cyberguerrilla.info/ways-to-connect-to-cyberguerrilla-irc/ (look for Channel #OpSudan)

Additional Security Resources & Tutorials for Sudan Activists:

VPN’s: https://newblood.anonops.com/vpn.html
The Onion Network: https://newblood.anonops.com/tor.html
Security Handbook: https://newblood.anonops.com/security.html
Email Encryption Basics: https://newblood.anonops.com/securemail.html
Connecting To The IRC: https://newblood.anonops.com/basics.html
HexChat IRC On Windows or Linux: https://newblood.anonops.com/hexchat.html
How To Write Un-Hackable Passwords: https://roguesecrutiylabs.ltd/how-to-write-un-hackable-passwords
Phone Security: https://roguesecuritylabs.ltd/phone-security
Email Security Strategies: https://roguesecuritylabs.ltd/email-security-strategies
Making The Switch To Encrypted Emails: https://roguesecuritylabs.ltd/making-the-switch-to-encrypted-emails/
Encrypted Chatrooms & VoIP Apps: https://roguesecuritylabs.ltd/encrypted-chatrooms-voip-apps
How To Make, Create & Maintain an Anonymous Identity Online: https://anonhq.com/anonymous-security-guide-2-0/
Securing Your Social Media Accounts: https://roguesecuritylabs.ltd/securing-social-media-accounts
Building & Selecting Safer Web Browsers: https://roguesecuritylabs.ltd/building-selecting-safer-web-browsers
The Value of Copy & Paste Services: https://roguesecuritylabs.ltd/copy-paste-services
Miscellaneous Tips, Tricks & Security ‘Hacks’: https://roguesecuritylabs.ltd/miscellaneous-tips-tricks-security-hacks
Operation Security: https://iamanonymous.com/dont-be-burnt-toast-unknown-guide-to-operation-security/

Download Tor for Windows, Apple, Android and/or Linux Devices Here: https://www.torproject.org/download/download.html

More Resources Available Here: https://roguemedialabs.com/2018/12/16/connecting-online-the-hacking-world-the-ultimate-anonymous-handbook/


Related image



Categories: World News

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!
%d bloggers like this: