“Impossible that this photo is true! ”… Japan’s dubious goal that eliminates Germany – World Cup 2022

Was the ball out or not? Germany were knocked out of the World Cup on Thursday by a dubious goal, that of the victory of Japan against Spain (2-1), in the other match of group E. If Japan had drawn, Germany would have qualified thanks to their 4-2 victory at the expense of Costa Rica and it was the Japanese who should have packed up.

In the 51st minute, Japan’s Kaoru Mitoma lunged to cross Ao Tanaka, who scored. However, the images and slow motions of television do not make it possible to affirm that the ball had not entirely crossed the limits of the ground at the time of the last pass. In any case, the South African referee Victor Gomes granted the goal after viewing the VAR.

“From my point of view, I believe the ball was half out, but I couldn’t see well due to the speed, I was just focused on scoring,” said the striker, man of the match . There is a possibility that the ball was out, but if it had been and there hadn’t been a goal, I wouldn’t have been disappointed, but on arrival, it was a goal, so I’m happy. »

Inside or outside?

Spain coach Luis Enrique seemed confident the ball was out. “I saw a photo that must be faked or manipulated because it’s impossible for this photo to be real! I felt that something fishy was happening when the VAR took so long to decide … I have nothing to say, ”he reacted.

Japan coach Hajime Moriyasu affirmed his confidence in “excellent technology”. “If (the ball) had really gone out, it would have been a six-yarder. But the referee ruled she was still on the line, we would have accepted his decision whatever it was, but he decided it was on the line,” he said.

According to an explanation put forward by a BBC journalist, the perception of the disputed action is not the same whether one looks at the ball from the ground or above it. In the second case, we could judge that the ball, more precisely its flare, has not entirely crossed the limits of the field and therefore remains in play. A bit like this little demonstration by an Internet user.

IFAB Law 9 states that the ball is considered out of play when “it has entirely crossed the goal line or the touchline, whether on the ground or in the air”. The German daily Die Welt notes soberly: “Inside or outside, a few millimeters decide the elimination of Germany”.

More spite at Bild , the largest German daily: “Another bitter drama! As in the Wembley final against England in 1966, there was a controversial decision, and once again Germany paid the price”. Bild , however, quotes a more cautious referee, Patrick Ittrich: “They apparently found visual proof that the ball had not gone out. »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts